MCO 2.0 in five states, three FTs

Selangor, Penang, Melaka, Johor, Sabah, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan will be placed under the Movement Control Order (MCO) beginning midnight Wednesday (Jan 13).

The second phase of the MCO for these states and federal territories is to stem the spread of Covid-19 which has been recording four-digit daily cases of late.

In announcing this, Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the MCO would be in effect for two weeks until Jan 26.

Speaking during a special address aired live today, Muhyiddin also announced that interstate travel will not be allowed during this period for the whole country.

For the states and federal territories under the MCO, interdistrict travel is also not permitted.

“According to the Health Ministry’s projection, the MCO could help reduce daily Covid-19 cases by 80 per cent.

“Based on risk evaluation by the ministry, states under the MCO are high-risk states where its health services have almost reached maximum capacity.

“The Health Ministry will make continuous assessments to determine whether the MCO will be extended before the end of these two weeks,” he said in a special address aired live today.

Under MCO 2.0, movement would be limited to a 10-km radius from a person’s home and only two from a household are permitted to leave the house and travel in the same vehicle at any one time for the purpose of buying necessities from supermarkets or grocery shops.

“Any individuals who violate the restrictions can be issued a compound to a maximum of RM1,000,” Muhyiddin in his special address today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *